My June ’15 in Review

As June drew to a close I couldn’t help but think – out loud – to myself, “IT’S JULY ALREADY?!” While not an unsavory reality, the fact that we’ve coasted through more than half of the calendar year yields imminent cinematic bliss throughout the latter half of the festival circuit and awards season. My viewings were mostly satisfactory barring what could be considered a third affirmation of a franchise’s needless, money-grubbing expansion along with another dud or two. In other news, my ongoing world cinema endeavors unfortunately slowed but remain far from dead or even on hold, however a few checkouts from the local library have evidenced that people don’t know how to take proper care of shit, you know, a la simply not using DVDs as animal chew toys or drink coasters. An exaggeration, of course, but I’m sure you catch my drift.

On another note, my re-watch of Point Break was in the form of a 35mm screening at the historic Colonial Theater in Phoenixville, PA, of which hosts a pretty stellar array of programs year-round that I unfortunately can’t experience on account of a long (enough) commute to and from. In a similarly re-watch-centric vein, a Terminator double feature helped me come to the startling realization that the first is a mildly superior effort despite my adolescent adoration for T2 and the Universal Studios attraction it spawned when I was but a wee lad. Further thoughts to come in a longer than average review following my presumably lackluster viewing of Genisys early this week.

June

 

 

Leave a Reply

